Callie Hunter

Blog Tour: Authors Unite

A blog tour for authors – what a wonderful thing. I must say, this is the first time I’ve been invited to do one of these things so I am very excited. Thank you Tony Gilbert for the offer, and of course I’ll join in! (I recommend that you read his work, too. Why? Because he’s awesome.) Every author will answer the same four questions – and every author works differently. It’s a good insight into how we all work (and might even give us a good tips to try.)

Sound good? Let’s begin.

 

1) What am I working on?

At the moment, I’ve been splitting my time between editing ‘Lost and Found’ in my Still Searching series and writing. In between the excitement to return to writing ‘Infinity’ I’m also trying to do my university assignments. At a given moment, I always have a story in my mind. Little things I’ve been stuck on, how to move from A to B — it strikes when I least expect it.

I’ve finished a thriller novel called Hide and Seek and I’m very hooked onto this story. It started as a short story, and when I missed the deadline for a competition (because I forgot, firstly, and I didn’t get enough feedback to be completely happy with it) I’ve decided to expand it, and the story is flowing. It’s written from a little girl’s point of view of her parents failing relationship, and how a little sees the world. (and understands a lot more than people give her credit for).

The very first novel I wrote has been locked away for some time and it’s about time that I left him free, and returned to editing. The story means so much to me, and my writing skills have developed since I write the story so it’s time to return to my wonderful Parker Lefevre and In Between Dreams.

Honestly, you do all you can to give them life, then they stop listening to you. They grow up too fast.

 

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Honestly, I’m not very sure how to answer this. My work typically fits under a general fiction (apart from the thriller stories that are categorised different.)

I’m strongly inspired by Ellen Hopkins and how she treats her themes. What really struck me is the focus on how the characters deal with things, not the event so much. For example, All At Once focuses on how a mother and son live with the death, the guilt, and how they attempt to return to normal life. I take inspiration from Ellen Hopkins and Sarah Kane, giving my work the desire to produce life in its rawest state.

I fell head over heels in love with Korean writer-director Kim Ki-Duk. His themes. His imagery. Everything. His raw themes, the brutality in his art touched my soul and I can’t stop my fascination. He’s such a talented man with many stories to tell about the ignored depths of life, he’s an artistic genius. Without him, I wouldn’t have the courage to touch upon the subjects that I do.

Life as it happens, the good, and the bad. Many people cast a blind eye to the themes that I write about, or have judgements on these themes without even contemplating what causes it. My work focuses on what causes these events and how my characters deal with it. Put simply, what it means to live, and to die – physically, and metaphorically.

 

3) Why do I write what I do?

I am fascinated by the darker aspects of life. A romance story that’s cheerful, and happy and everything is sunshine and rainbows does not catch my attention. I’m fascinated by things that inspire the darkest thoughts to pass through our minds, things that trigger emotions so strong that we struggle to control them or even understand them.

The first novel I ever wrote was centred around a young man struggling to find a will to live and when his life hits a turn for the worst – his struggle to keep his past buried and his future alive drives him to depths he hadn’t been to since his teens, In Between Dreams. (I’m happily back working on this story!)

The characters portrayed in my work are presented in a realistic manner, facing many aspects of life that are too quickly ignored, too quickly cast aside. Perhaps a part of it is therapy for me, channeling bad memories and fears, finding the good in the bad, and learning when to listen to your head or your heart.

As sad as it sounds, I am happiest when writing, when creating characters who help me to channel my feelings, fears, desires and deals with aspects of my life that I’m neglecting/avoiding. Sometimes it’s easier to handle pain or confusion in fiction than pain in real life.

 

4) How does my writing process work?

Simple. I get the idea. I think of what I know is solid, then I start to write. As I write, I get more ideas, and then if I hit a brick wall? Take a break, edit back what is written, or stay away from the story until my brain can untangle the web of ideas and make sense of how to guide the story.

Of course, some people plan every aspect of their story but that doesn’t work for me. Everybody is different. Some may raised an eyebrow at my method. Perhaps part of it is blind faith, but yes there have been ideas that have fizzled out – but those elements are incorporated into other stories. Hey, I’ve managed to write books with this method – why fix it if it isn’t broken?

 

So, with all of that said, I should pass the baton onto …

My lovely authors

Kristopher English  Website x Facebook x Flickr

Kris English

 Kris English once lived an Archer in another life but now lives in the wilds of Norfolk, UK. After following his father around the UK and Europe he has settled down and loves to write, in his spare time away from work he has travelled and take photos of beautiful places such as New Zealand, Kenya and Europe. He writes under the pen name Jack Archer and writes Sci-fi, Supernatural and fantasy.

 

 

 

Teri Cross ChetwoodWebsite x TwitterFacebook

teri photoTeri Cross Chetwood was born in Virginia. She has lived all over the country, including Georgia, Wisconsin, Louisiana, Texas, and California. She was once the lover of six different Presidents, including that one you can’t stand. She last lived in Ohio and was used by scientists to predict earthquakes. Due to an accident with a time machine, she passed away two years before she was born. Her spirit continues to write fiction due to contractual obligations.”

Find her books here: Amazon UKAmazon US

 

 

Alexander ChantalWebsite x Twitter x Facebook

alexander chantal photoAlexander Chantal writes romance stories. His descriptions are dynamic and beautifully crafted with characters with depth and seem so real upon reading them. He won NaNo in 2013. His novel ‘Adagio’ is in the editing stages, and tells a tale very much worth reading.

 

Clara Grace Walker – Website

Clara Grace WalkerAuthor of Amazon’s Best-selling novel, Gratification, Clara Grace Walker grew up knowing she wanted to write. She is thrilled with the release of her second novel, Gossip, Book #2 in the Desire Never Dies trilogy. This trilogy provides an inside look at the love stories of three couples finding their way to happily-ever-after in a corrupt world of wealth and power. Be prepared for sex, scheming and, oh yes, a bit of murder, as the lives of these three couples intersect throughout Gratification (Book #1), Gossip (Book #2) and the upcoming Redemption (Book #3). Clara takes her readers on a ride filled with sensuality, intrigue and strong characters, only some of whom possess a moral compass. Buckle up. The ride’s a bit bumpy!

This entry was published on May 19, 2014 at 10:11 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

