Callie Hunter

Entwined: Prologue.

Want a sneak peek of Entwined? Read on!

P R O L O G U E

Samantha could hardly tear her gaze away from the tall man before her. The hairs on her arm bristled from the poisonous eye contact.

He hadn’t aged a day. He’d grown a perfect layer of facial hair – neatly groomed and well loved from the looks of it. He was still handsome as the day she first laid eyes on him. But this time, she knew better.

She tried to close the door but he shoved his way past her, and into her home. This would not end well. This was a disaster waiting to happen. She pushed the door ajar, then followed Ryan as he paced through her living room. His interest into every inch of the room disconcerted her. What the hell did he want?

“This is quite a place you got here. Wonder how you paid for it.” He glanced back at her, authority thick in his stare.

She tied her dressing gown up and crossed her arms. She couldn’t stand still. She shuffled, shifting her weight from one foot to the other. Ryan examined every inch of her home. Whenever his eyes narrowed and he chewed his lower lips, he was either impressed, or calculating something far from pleasant.

“How did you find me?” Samantha’s voice was quiet.

“That’s not your concern. Who’s the guy?” Ryan gestured to a photograph of the tall brunette, his arms wrapped around her, both smiling as wide as possible.

Now was not that time for butterflies or weak knees. Thoughts of her life support could not resurface. Not with Ryan before her.

She finally found the courage to say, “I’d like you to leave.”

“Tell me his name and I’ll leave.”

She sighed. “Davis.”

Ryan laughed. “Davis? What kind of name is Davis? Jesus fucking Christ.” He flopped onto her cream couch, slipped his jacket off, and got comfortable.

“I’d like you to leave now.”

“Not yet.” He rubbed his palms together, nodding to the spot beside him.

Samantha glanced at the large clock on the wall, ticking away, the noise seemingly louder and louder as each second past. She had forty minutes until Davis came home. Would Ryan be done by then?

She sat obediently, hands on her knees, waiting for him to speak.

“You have something that belongs to me.”

Something that belonged to him? She shrugged. “Not that I know of.”

“Don’t give me that bullshit. I want my twelve grand back.”

The momentum of her pounding heart quickened. The room felt warmer. She wiped her forehead with the back of her hand. “I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

“Don’t lie to me, you little slut.”

“Do not call me that.” She clenched her fists, around the fluffy pink pocket.

“Or do you prefer whore?” He tilted his head to the side.

What was happening? This couldn’t be possible. It had to be a dream. A nightmare. She’d wake up in Davis’ arms, and this would fade away. A minute passed, and nothing had changed. Everything came crashing down at her feet, shattering to pieces.

“You think I’d just let you fuck off with my money, and let you get away with it? Give me my money and I’ll go.”

She shook her head. “Where am I supposed to get that kind of money?”

As usual, he smirked, confidence in his voice as he said, “Well, I got a few ideas.”

Something struck her. An impulse. She slapped him as hard as she could. After three years, the cracks in her self-esteem had recovered and she was almost the old Samantha again.

Before she could regret her action, apologising profusely, his strong hand left a throb on her cheek, the skin physically burning beneath the impact.

“You dare hit me again, bitch.”

There was no way out. No escape. No backup plan.

“I can’t get that kind of money quickly. All I have one five hundred at the moment.”

Ryan grinned. “Then I’ll wait. Just don’t take too long. I have loose lips. Wouldn’t want Davis to find out, would we?”

Samantha shook her head, her palms sweating against her throbbing cheek. “Okay. I promise. Just give me time.“

“Fine. I can wait. Besides, this place looks pretty interesting anyway.”

Fine more information about Entwined here.

This entry was published on October 6, 2013 at 7:31 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

